What Charlotte Taught Us: On Reading, Strategies and IB Learner Profile & Attitudes

At last! After 2 months, we have finished our adventure with Charlotte, Wilbur and the rest of the barn.  As this was our first time to run the Literature Circle, I didn’t really expect much from the students.  Feedback time and I, again, was surprised by my young readers.

My grade 4 shared that the Literature Circle helped them to gain friends and to be open-minded to what others have to share.  They learned how to encourage themselves and each other.  They said that to make our discussions better, the class should show more cooperation, open-mindedness and independence. They added that it helped them be more enthusiastic and committed to reading.

What we have learned from the book:  Love, friendship and so much more!

20130228_153452

“That even if you’re very small like a spider or an ant, you can save someone’s life…”

20130228_153750

“I understand that in life anything can happen…like a spider and a pig can be friends…so even a human can be a dog’s friend.  Whenever I see someone fighting, I’ll stop them and say you are friends…”

20130228_153649

“It’s all about loyalty, faith and friendship.  Sometimes I feel like Wilbur…because I also, like him, feel very lonely at times…”

What we learned about reading:  Before and Now…

20130228_153525

“I used to think that reading is just for fun…but now I think reading is something you can learn from…”

20130228_153546

“…every book has adventure, mystery and suspense.”

20130228_153604

“…I used to think that you read because you can say ‘…I’m better than you.’  But now when Literature Circle started, I realized that if you don’t read, you’re lost and you don’t know what to do…”

20130228_163556

“I used to think that reading is just reading…reading is not only reading, it is something that the author is trying to share…”

20130228_164412

“…Now I think reading is not just for fun, but to help us understand life…”

Reading Strategies that Work!

20130228_153731v1

“…reading with expression because if we read with expressions, we know the character more and what it is feeling…keeping a routine of reading.”

20130228_153900

“…I could talk with the characters and they would talk back to me again after a minute…my post it strategy helped and re-reading, stop and review and last but not the least predicting my favorite…”

On IB Learner Profile and Attitudes…

20130228_153625

“…respect and enthusiasm are the main…”

20130228_153829

“…confidence that I can finish the book…open-minded to myself for difficult words because I get irritated very fast.”

20130228_164227

“The attitude integrity because in the book the characters were telling words like sorry, thank you…”

20130228_164805

“…risk-taker by reading some hard words…empathy and commitment by reminding myself to read…”

I feel very happy and fulfilled as a teacher that there were changes in how my students view reading. The Literature Circle helped them with their attitude, not only with reading, but toward themselves and others.  I think I’m most proud that they opened their little world to a book that they never knew can make an impact to their learning.  They opened their little world to others, and took risks to be in a world that they can still further explore.

And now, one thing’s for sure- we are all very excited for our next set of books!  Hooraay!

Leave a comment

Filed under language, learning strategies, reflection

Leave a Reply

