Share Your Goals With Your Students!

We all know that goal setting is an integral part of our profession.  There are different ways of setting goals and different paths of reaching them.  I think however we do it, the first important step is to reflect where we are and understand why we are setting a particular goal.

Goal Setting Tool Im Currently Using:  What is Happening in Your PYP Classroom

So that’s what I do.  I choose one aspect that I want to improve on, set action plans and reflect again.  At some point, Id feel successful because I see myself improving.  However, I felt something was missing.

I thought- I make goals to improve my teaching, but how can it be just about me when I’m in class filled with these little people.  So this year, I tried a different approach.  I shared my professional goals with my students.   Of course, not all professional goals can be shared with the students, but why not do it with those goals that you can share? This time, it’s not just me working to reach my goals, it’s my whole class.  We started to have a more accurate picture of who we are and we all feel responsible moving toward the next level.   Doing this has more positive inputs for me and the class, like modelling how to set goals, reflecting and showing more cooperation.   There is more ownership for our learning and goals.

20130923_141547  20130923_141620  20130923_141634

Haha, the level of honesty of the kids is just too cute! But it’s a more accurate picture of our performance and the reflections showed how we are all willing to improve.  After all, their stars are my stars.

Leave a comment

Filed under action, collaboration, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

